CW Detroit Events

Jane Austen Book Club Discussion at AADL Main Branch

Wednesday

Mar 7, 2018 – 7:00 PM

More Info

Jane Austen Book Club Discussion at AADL Main Branch- Associated event of the University of Michigan Graduate Library ‘The Life and Times of Lizzy Bennet’ Exhibit With the 200th anniversary of Jane Austen’s death it has given the Grad Library an opportunity to showcase not only significant early editions of Austen’s works held in the Special Collections Library, but a much broader swath of materials revealing the historical milieu in which she and her characters lived. This lead to a discussion about books about or written by Austen that reflected these times out of that the Jane Austen Book Club Discussion was created. There will be three discussion events on the following dates, February 7th, 28th and March 7th. March 7th at 7:00 pm at Ann Arbor District Library Main Branch Nicola’s Books Presents, Author Kathleen Flynn In Conversation with U of M RC Creative Writing Director Laura Thomas The Jane Austen Project Kathleen A. Flynn is an editor at the New York Times, where she works at "The Upshot." She holds a B.A. from Barnard College and an M.A. from the University of North Carolina. She has taught English in Hong Kong, washed dishes on Nantucket, and is a life member of the Jane Austen Society of North America. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their shy fox terrier, Olive. Laura Hulthen Thomas's short fiction and essays have appeared in a number of journals and anthologies, including The Cimarron Review, Nimrod International Journal, Epiphany, and Witness. She received her MFA in fiction writing from Warren Wilson College. She currently heads the undergraduate creative writing program at the University of Michigan's Residential College, where she teaches fiction and creative nonfiction. The Jane Austen Project Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers--Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane--arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters--a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren't the first team from the future to "go back," their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself. Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen's circle via her favorite brother, Henry. But diagnosing Jane's fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it...however heartbreaking that may prove. Books will be available through Nicola’s Books - contact the store directly 734-662-0600 or come in to the store (2513 Jackson Avenue - Westgate Shopping Center.) Nicola’s Books will offer a 15% discount for the purchase of this title when you tell them that the book is for the Jane Austen Book Club. You may also check with the AADL for availability of the title.

Bring These Top Artists To Your City

Demand it! ®

and Never Miss a Show Again!

Powered by Eventful, a CBS Local Digital Media Business

More From CW50 Detroit

Street Beat
Detroit Proud Playlists
Detroit Proud

Listen Live